Climbing

Recently my friend invited me to go climbing with her and since I have been looking for a new fitness hobby, I decided to give it a go. There is one catch, however, I’m terrified of heights. Massively terrified. I get the full physical response shaking, sweating, pounding heart, the urge to vomit, and vertigo. I really don’t trust myself on ladders because even a tiny 6 foot ladder sets me off.  Climbing, at least indoors, is much safer than ladders but it has still been a struggle for me, before yesterday I was only able to make it about 6 feet up the wall before I’d lose it and have to come down. Yesterday I made it almost all the way up, I only had a foot to go but my legs were shaking so bad I couldn’t make them work anymore. I manage to do really good as long as I didn’t think about how high I was, and trying instead on focusing on the physical act of climbing but the higher I got the harder it as to ignore. I’m really pushing myself though because I really don’t want my fears to prevent me from doing things in life. 2014 has been a big year for me as far a facing my fears. I quit my job with no new job lined up and faced my fears of the unknown and financial ruin. They payoff was huge and it altered my attitude about taking risks. Knocking down the barriers created by fear is opening up a whole new world for me and I can’t wait to see what comes next.

2 thoughts on “Climbing

Leave a Reply

