The Aftermath

Since I quit my job I have felt adrift, not sure what lies around the corner. Currently I am pursuing a job that I think would be a really great opportunity but if that falls through than I literally have zero plans. I took a break from my masters program because I anticipated this period of unemployment would be short and I didn’t want to pay tuition while unemployed, so right now I literally have nothing going on. I find myself uninterested in standard nursing jobs and if this opportunity doesn’t pan out I am seriously considering leaving the profession forever.  I dont have any idea what I might want to do, however, so yea, not sure what to do with that.

Another strange and unintended consequence of quitting my job is that my dog Willow is developing a strange unhealthy possessiveness of me. She was always a mama’s girl but since quitting they don’t go to daycare much anymore and we have been spending a lot of time together. Sprinkles has been bored with all the time at home but Willow is loving it and has glued herself to me. When my husband comes home from work she gets worse, insisting that I hold her or wedging herself between my husband and I on the couch. When I’m paying attention to Sprinkles she forces herself in between us and has started revenge peeing right in front of the dog door when ever my husband and I have sex.  Yesterday at the dog park she growled and snapped at a strange dog because it was jumping up on me and I was paying too much attention to it. I need to figure out what I’m doing with my life soon or she might go “Fatal Attraction” on me.

All I really want to do with my life these days is camp. First camping trip of the season is this weekend. Arches National Park, here I come.

4 thoughts on “The Aftermath

  1. WOW! You have had to process and deal with a lot of stuff in a short amount of time. I’m in awe. I’d like to slap your boss. I can’t believe a medical professional would be so dismissive of you when you are having an EMERGENCY PROCEDURE. I’m so upset with this person. Ugh! I wish you luck on your next endeavor. I don’t know how to tell you this, but Willow thinks your new job is being attached to her hip:-)

  2. I have no advice on Willow, but you might want to contact a dog trainer to nip the possessiveness in the bud. Arches is so pretty- have fun!!

  3. So, if you decide to leave nursing, is there any way that you can take the stuff you DO love (outdoors, camping) and find a career there? It’d be a huge shift, but you’ve already taken the hardest step in leaving your old job. I wish I had guys like that, especially this past week or so.

  4. Just catching up on your blog.

    Wow…your ex-boss is a total ass! How incredibly uncaring and insensitive. I’m so glad you’re out of that environment. I hope you’ll be able to find a new path for yourself soon. In the meantime, enjoy camping!

    I wish I could offer some doggy wisdom regarding Willow, but I’m stumped. If it continues, definitely look into finding a trainer.

    Good luck with everything.

Leave a Reply

