A lot has happened… Part 2

When we last left off I had just learned that I needed to have an abscess on my tonsil lanced. My first thought was on how much it was going to hurt so I tried to talk the doctor out of it. He pointed out to me that I was getting to the point where the abscess was starting to close off my airway and that it really wasn’t something to mess around with. He promised they would drug me up nice before they did the procedure. I know I sound stupid for letting it get to this point but I was really in a lot of denial. I knew I had gotten myself into this and had to put on my big girl panties and get myself out. I agreed to head straight to the ER.

At this point in the story I realized that there is no way I should be going to work the next day. Besides the fact that I had a communicable disease I knew that I wouldn’t be fit to wake up at 3 am to go to work after being out all night at the ER not sleeping and being pumped with drugs. So I text my boss, briefly explain the situation and tell her that I wouldn’t be able to make it into work the next day. Her response was “Well just come in to work from 4 am to 9 am and IF there is enough staff coming in at that point you can go home, if not you need to stay the whole 12 hours.” I texted her again and said that I wouldn’t be fit to go into work at all and she texted me that I needed to call and find someone to cover me if i wasn’t going to come in. I told her I was on my way to the ER and wouldn’t be able to call around to find someone, she texted that she was out of town and “Sorry, cant help you”. I need to add that my boss was frequently out of town, was often unavailable, came into the office maybe 3 times a week, and was in violation of policy by being out of town at the same time as her assistant manager. Also, I had NEVER called in sick in the 2+ years I worked there and often got roped in to covering for others by her. Needless to say I felt very letdown and angry at her for basically telling me to fuck off and figure it out myself. I had been struggling a lot with my job and my overall dissatisfaction with it and I finally felt pushed over the edge.

I was livid the entire ride to the ER and when we got there it didn’t get much better. While we waited to see the doctor I called around but was having trouble finding someone to cover for me. I knew I couldn’t make it into work after having the abscess drained so I briefly considered not having it drained until the next day but then decided to let them drain the abscess but to not get any pain meds. Not a good idea because having your tonsil lanced is apparently even more painful than I imagined it to be. I had to stop them in the middle because I couldn’t continue with out meds. Jack really came through at this point by calling a coworker who had been wishy washy when I first called and guilting him into covering for me, so I was able to get the meds and finish the procedure. It hurt worse than the time my RE grabbed my cervix with an instrument to hard he poked a hole in it and had to stitch my cervix. Way worse, even with the meds.

After we made it home (around 2 am) we discussed long and hard my future at my current job (I was not buzzed at all from the morphine so this was done with a sound mind). Things had been bad for awhile but I felt so disrespected and hung out to dry by my boss that I wanted to quit on the spot, never to darken the doors again, to punish her. We have a very small staff so the loss of one would be very troublesome. My husband was on board but in the end I decided to give a months notice so if I had any more complications from my abscess I would have health insurance. My last day at that job was Jan 31 and I have been unemployed since… for the first time in my life (besides childhood).

4 thoughts on “A lot has happened… Part 2

  1. I myself have been “on the verge” at work for a while…but having a major health issue on top of it is horrible! If it means you’ll be happier in the long run, I guess maybe it’s good that this happened to push you into leaving.

  2. What an awful boss! It sounds like you definitely needed to leave. I’m not sure I would have given a month’s notice like you. I hope you find something soon!

Leave a Reply

