The Childfree Life

Thanks for the support given during Willows latest episode of illness. She is doing much better and is finally done pooping old blood. Whew, hopefully things stay good for awhile.

I’ve debated the direction I want to go with the blog. I like the idea of offering support to women who are choosing to live child free or considering it as an option to resolve their infertility. I have also toyed with the idea of getting involved in the extremely small “living child free after infertility and loss” blog community. The problem is that it kind of feels like I am continuing to dwell on my infertility if I do. On the other hand I probably shouldn’t completely ignore/repress that aspect of my life because it is a part of who I am, whether I like it or not. Part of me (most of me)wants to be perceived as a carefree childless woman who never feels any heartache because of her circumstances, but that’s not really true. I did and still do experience heartache because of all this. As much as I wish I could erase my whole infertility history I am still dealing with the ramifications from that relatively brief but intense part of my life. So in interest of total honesty I will occasionally include a post on the realities of living a child free life after infertility. But I refuse to have this be the focus of my blog.

I also really need to expand the focus of my blog reading from infertility/parenting to include other areas. If anyone has any recommendations I would welcome them. I am interested in baking blogs, gardening blogs, green living blogs, travel and adventure blogs, dog parenting blogs, etc. Let me know if anyone has any suggestions.

10 thoughts on “The Childfree Life

  1. I’m thinking about putting a stop to my treatment too. Enough is enough. As for a new direction for the blog? My brain is vacant. Sorry! I am no help at all. I’ll go have a coffee and see if that inspires me to think of something.

  2. I love reading about your adventures! I can’t wait to see what direction you decide to take! I’m not a gold-mine of blogs unrelated to infertility unfortunately. Most of the blogs I read at least mention infertility every now and then. I don’t know if you would be interested in those. One is a cooking blog and the other is an everyday life blog.

  3. I know what you mean. I had a regular, everyday blog before I started a “no kidding” blog. I maintain that, and a travel blog, and now my latest trip blog. (All are linked on my No Kidding in NZ blog.) I didn’t want my normal, everyday blog to talk too much about infertility and living life without children. It’s just about life, and my readers there know about my infertility and ectopic pregnancies, but it’s never been the focus. Yet, like you, I felt the need to still be able to talk about life without kids – both the joys, and the heartaches. And I wanted to be able to talk about it with people who understood. Which is why I have separate blogs.

    A lot of bloggers though just have “their” blog, and they blog about whatever they want – it might be infertility, it might be other life issues, or it might simply be what they’re reading or the movies they’ve seen. You could try that – blogging about what comes to mind, and see if any themes start to show themselves. It’s very easy to start a new blog, or switch themes. Whatever you do, I look forward to reading it.

  4. I need to focus on something else as well, but I don’t really have any hobbies. Work used to be my refuge and sanctuary, but now it gets on my nerves too.

Leave a Reply

