Changing course

It’s time to put this out there and make it official. Jack and I are done pursuing fertility treatments and after I get my next period I am going back on birth control (to hopefully regulate my wacky hormones) and we will officially give up all TTC. We have decided to go the child-free route. I know we have been leaning this way for awhile but the more and more time that passes, the clearer this decision becomes. Life is too short to spend suffering and we were suffering. 2012 was without a doubt the worst year of my life. We have finally begun to heal and we have no desire to rip off those scabs and open up those wounds again. I’m so lucky to have my amazing husband and my 2 beagle children who need me. I love our little family and I wouldn’t change it one bit. Also I like that I’m walking away on my terms not broken, exhausted and out of options. Speaking of options, we haven’t decided what to do with our frozen embryos yet, we will probably leave them on ice for a little while in case we have a drastic change of heart, but I doubt it.  I feel really good about our decision and so lucky that we are on the same page. 

9 thoughts on “Changing course

  1. I’m glad you’ve come to a decision that you are at peace with. I hope you continue to share your journey with us even though this chapter of your life is now closed. Sending love your way!

  2. Wow, what a huge decision. Sounds like it’s the right one though since you are feeling such peace about it. Wishing you lots of great adventures!

  3. Whoa, lady. that is a huge decision. And well done. I’m sure you will have your moments, as you adjust to a big decision like that, but you really do sound happy and relaxed about it and I hope that it very much works out for you, sweetie.

  4. You are often in my thoughts. I have repeated to my hubby that if it ever came to choosing between a baby and him, I would always choose him. I’m so glad you are both on the same page and can get back to loving each other and yourself. I look forward to hearing about all your adventures!

  5. I’m so glad to read that you’ve both come to a decision that you’re at peace with. It’s so important to be aware of what your limits are and how far you’re willing to go.

  6. Aw, I’m both sad and happy to read this — but mostly happy, for the future you guys will have, surrounded by friends, family, beagles, and so much love. (And good riddance to all that TTC stress). Cheers to your journey forward!

  7. Hi. Thanks for visiting No Kidding. I’m sorry you had to come to this decision, but very happy that you are feeling that sense of relief and enthusiasm for life that infertility so often robs from us. Wishing you well.

Leave a Reply

