A post about my sister

I haven’t written much about my sister and how she handled the cycle. Truth be told she was a rock star. While she was on the stims she was mostly just tired. Even though she produced 25 eggs for us, she was up and running the day after retrieval (so was I but I only produced 7). She handled it so well and gave such good results that she was asked so donate again as an anonymous donor. After the holidays she is set to do this all again, for someone else.

Here’s the deal, I haven’t told her about the negative, though I’m sure she heard about it from our mom. I’m kind of nervous to see her. I feel like we were in a relay and she did such a good job for her leg of the race while I totally fell apart on mine. I feel like I let the team down. I’m trying to work up the nerve to go next door and see her but I keep chickening out. But I owe it to her to tell her in person, wish me luck.

7 thoughts on “A post about my sister

  1. Your wonderful sister will simply be sad for you, and hopeful that the next time the result is different. Stork is right, you let no one down. Good luck.

  2. I agree, you DID NOT let anyone down. I hope your conversation went OK. That’s great that she wants to donate her eggs again. You two are a super strong pair of women!

  3. The last thing you need to feel is that you let her down. And I’m sure she would think you were being silly feeling that way! She’s amazing to do this for someone else as well!

  4. Here from lost and found… so sorry about your negative… I don’t think anyone knows how exactly they’ll react until it happens.

    As for your sister.. when my cycle failed, I think there was a bit of worry on both side (me and my friend who donated) that we had somehow failed the other person. My friend waited until I approached her, and that shared cup of tea was really good for both of us.

    Wishing you all the best… be gentle on yourself for a few weeks too 🙂

Leave a Reply

