Let’s talk about gnomes

I have an odd love of gnomes, it stems back to my 3rd grade teacher who convinced me a group of gnomes visited my classroom regularly. I spent my entire school year making goodies, houses and things for the gnomes who I suspected inhabited a tree outside the class room. She would make sure to alter my offering in a way that made it look as though the gnomes had used or taken bites out of what ever I left.

Fast forward to today, I love gnomes. So much I had a gnome themed wedding with toad stool cupcakes, and my first tattoo was of a gnome holding a flower. Its only natural then that my child will have a gnome/woodland themed nursery as well. Its perfect because its a unisex theme and represents to me all that is magical and innocent about childhood. I have been planning my nursery for about 19-20 months now and needless to say it has gotten quite elaborate.Planning my nursery is my default fantasy that gets me through the dark infertility times.

We will start with the fabric which is my inspiration for the rest of my nursery. The fabric is designed by Erin Rippy (I wonder if there is connection between the name Erin and the love of gnomes) and I got it on Spoon flower a custom fabric websites that prints the fabric to order. My lovely donor sister is also an awesome seamstress who made my wedding dress and is making the quilt and nursery set. I will post pics when it is done.

20120731-091305.jpg

I think I dont want to overwhelm you with all my amazing ideas at once so I think I will space them out in different posts. So I will finish the post with a pic of the crib my dad is making. (I got the idea off of this web site http://www.backwoodshome.com/articles2/ainsworth69.html). I want it to look like the crib was built by woodland gnomes.

We’ve already started work on these nursery projects even though we haven’t gotten our BFP yet because we need to focus on some of the happy and fun aspects of this journey. We might be jinxing ourselves but we will deal with that possibility when we come to it.

9 thoughts on “Let’s talk about gnomes

  1. As a Steiner Waldorf Kindergarten teacher I have a special place in my heart for all things gnome. I have a little wool gnome who lives on my nature table and each time I changed the season or festival display the children can’t wait to come in and find our what he is doing or where he is hiding.

  2. I have already planned out our nursery in my mind even though we haven’t gotten our BFP either…and I totalllllllly agree – it really has helped me through this whole process. THE LIGHT AT THE END OF THE TUNNEL IF YOU WILL.
    i loooooooove that crib – although I don’t share your love of gnomes…they kind of scare me. 🙂

  3. That fabric is so adorable. I will have to check out that site and choose my fabric for my future nursery…although I’m the opposite of you, I have done NOTHING to plan a nursery! The only thing I know is which room we will use, but I keep the door shut because it’s too depressing. Maybe I should try the “light at the end of the tunnel” approach, see what happens!

  4. You are not alone in your love for gnomes! Our family’s interest started a few months ago when my son found one while digging in the garden a few days before we left on a year long trip around the world. At first we would put him in places our son would find him, take pictures of him next to monuments and tell bedtime stories about him. Then we decided to share those stories and have created a series of children’s books around his adventures teaching children about the world we live in. His name is Gnomad…here’s a link to a silly little video I made about him http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OKkOT7fCi1Y&feature=plcp and here’s a link to the first book. 🙂 http://bit.ly/FindingGnomad

    Good luck with the nursery!

Leave a Reply

